University of Minnesota
Department of German, Scandinavian & Dutch
gsd@umn.edu
612-625-2080
myU OneStop


Department of German, Scandinavian & Dutch's home page.

Affiliated Faculty

Name Contact Specialties
Anderson, Gordon, Librarian for European Studies ganderso@umn.edu German, Scandinavian & Dutch Studies; Germanic and Slavic languages
Bachrach, Bernard, Professor, Department of History bachr001@umn.edu Medieval Europe before 1200; the Renaissance; medieval military
Baer, Alejandro, Assoc. Professor, Department of Sociology abaer@umn.edu Social memory studies; holocaust and genocide studies; sociology of religion; media and communication; antisemitism; Judaism; qualitative methods; visual sociology.
Beeman, William, Professor, Department of Anthropology wbeeman@umn.edu Peasant & nomadic societies; paralinguistic & nonlinguistic semiotics; sociolinguistics & the semantics of interaction; cross-cultural comparison of theatrical & performance genres; opera; Middle East; South Asia; Japan
Cohen, Gary B., Professor, Department of History gcohen@umn.edu Austrian studies; Eastern Europe; modern European social history
Craig, Siobhan, Assoc. Professor, Department of English craig026@umn.edu Italian and German cinema; literary, cultural, film, feminist, and queer theory
Gopinath, Sumanth, Assoc. Professor, School of Music sumanth@umn.edu Music after WWII; avant-guarde & experimental musics; music & politics; musical hermeneutics; popular music; sound studies; music & globalization
Karras, Ruth, Professor, Department of History rmk@umn.edu Medieval Europe; women's history; gender history
Kobialka, Michal, Professor, Department of Theatre Arts & Dance kobia001@umn.edu Theater historiography; medieval theater; postmodern theater; Eastern European theater
Leitner, Helga, Professor, Department of Geography eqj6139@umn.edu Central Europe
Leppert, Richard, Regents Professor, Department of Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature leppe001@umn.edu Music; visual culture; critical theory; aesthetics; history of modernity
Levinson, Barnard M., Professor, Department of Classical & Near Eastern Studies levinson@umn.edu Hebrew Bible & ancient Near Eastern Studies; Biblical law; reception of the Bible in German intellectual history
Lovejoy, Alice, Asst. Professor, Department of Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature alovejoy@umn.edu Film history & historiography; nonfiction & experimental film; cinema & the state; East Central European film, literature, & cultural history; theories of history & the public sphere; film criticism & filmmaking
Maynes, Mary Jo, Professor, Department of History mayne001@umn.edu 19th- and 20th-century German history; social history; women's history
Mowitt, John W., Professor, Department of Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature, Department of English mowit001@umn.edu Contemporary literary theory
Painter, Karen, Assoc. Professor, School of Music kpainter@umn.edu Relationship between music, listening, and ideology in the context of 19th-century German social history; fin-de-si├Ęcle cultural debates; World War I, Austro-German socialism, and Nazism.
Pepper, Thomas, Assoc. Professor, Department of Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature tapepper@umn.edu Psychoanalytic theory; gender; textual theory; philosophy of language
Reyerson, Kathryn, Professor, Department of History reyer001@umn.edu Medieval Europe, the Mediterranean, and France; social, economic, and legal history
Savelsberg, Joachim, Professor, Department of Sociology savel001@umn.edu Sociology and criminology
Scheil, Andrew, Assoc. Professor, Department of English ascheil@umn.edu Anglo-Saxon language and literature; literatures of late antiquity / early Middle Ages
Thomas, Gary, Associate Professor, Department of Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature thoma002@umn.edu Gay and lesbian studies; German music and literature; 17th- and 18th-century literature
Werry, Margaret, Associate Professor, Department of Theatre Arts & Dance werry001@umn.edu Anthropological approaches to performance as social dramaturgy; critical race theory; cultural politics & performance of ethnicity, nationalism, & transnationalism; 19th-c Euro-American & British colonial popular theater & entertainment culture; museum studies

Left banner image courtesy of the Charles Babbage Institute, Unversity of Minnesota

Right banner image courtesy CuriousExpeditions.org